Elections (Elecciones)

Election Information
General Elections are held on the first Saturday of each May, with the deadline to file for a place on the ballot falling 78 days before Election Day and the first day to file for a place on the ballot falling 30 days before that. Town Council Places 1, 2, and 3 appear on the ballot in even-numbered years; and the Mayor and Places 4 and 5 in odd-numbered years.

The Town of Pantego will not have any items on the May 6, 2023 general election ballot as the filing period has passed and the following incumbents were the only filings received:


A certification of unopposed candidates was presented to the Town Council by the City Secretaryduring a regular meeting held Monday, February 27, 2023, at 6:30 p.m. Following the Council's unanimous acceptance, Ordinance 2023-903 was adopted (also unanimously), which serves to cancel the May 6, 2023 election for the Town of Pantego and to declare the three unopposed candidates (above) duly elected to the places for which they each filed. These candidates will each be sworn in for their new two-year terms after Election Day has passed. Though the Town has canceled its election, registered voters in the Town of Pantego may still be eligible to vote on other items or races on this general election date. Once sample ballots are available, they will be available to view at https://gisit.tarrantcounty.com/TCVL/ by entering your name and birthdate.

Finally, please note that Town Hall (Council Chambers) will not serve as a polling place for this election either during early voting or on election day. Find a polling place that is convenient for you at:

Election Results

Tarrant County Elections will begin posting returns on election night once polling places begin closing.

Filing Period

The period for filing an Application for a Place on the May 6, 2023 ballot has now passed. It was 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 18 through 5:00 p.m. Friday, February 17, 2023. During the filing period, candidate filings are accepted during normal business hours (Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., excluding holidays) and there is no filing fee. Candidate Packets will be made available in the City Secretary’s Office in Town Hall (1614 S Bowen Road) and online no later than the first day to file for a place on the ballot.

The Town of Pantego is not divided into districts. Therefore, the Mayor along with each member of the Town Council is elected at large (serving the entire community) by plurality vote for staggered two-year terms. Plurality simply means that the candidate receiving the most votes wins. In elections decided by a majority vote, on the other hand, a single candidate must receive more than half of all votes cast to be elected. Registered voters in Tarrant County can vote at any Vote Center location during both Early Voting (hours vary by day) and on Election Day (polls open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.). Vote Center locations sometimes change from year to year.

The City Secretary’s Office is responsible for overseeing municipal elections including serving as the contract administrator for election services through Tarrant County Elections, receiving all required candidate filings (including applications for a place on the ballot and campaign finance reports), and conducting a drawing for the order in which names will appear on the ballot.

Important May 6, 2023 Election Dates

  • First Day to Apply for a Ballot by Mail: Saturday, January 1, 2023
  • Last Day to Register to Vote: Thursday, April 6, 2023 (Postmarked)
  • Last day to apply for Ballot by Mail: Tuesday, April 25, 2023 (Received)
  • Early Voting: Monday, April 24, 2023 - Tuesday, May 2, 2023

The nearest polling location during Early Voting is the Center for Community Service at the Junior League of Arlington (4002 W Pioneer Parkway, Arlington, Texas 76013).

Early Voting by Personal APPEARANCE

Monday, April 24 – Friday, April 28

8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 29

7:00 a.m. – 7:00 a.m.

Sunday, April 30

10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Monday, May 1 and Tuesday, May 2

7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Election Day
Saturday, May 6, 2023

7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.



ElectionFiling Begins (108 days before)Filing Deadline (78 days before)

May 6, 2023: Mayor and Places 4 and 5

8:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 18, 20235:00 p.m. Friday, February 17, 2023
May 4, 2024: Places 1, 2, and 38:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 17, 20245:00 p.m. Friday, February 16, 2024
May 3, 2025: Mayor and Places 4 and 5 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 15, 20255:00 p.m. Friday, February 14, 2025
May 2, 2026: Places 1, 2, and 38:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 14, 20265:00 p.m. Friday, February 13, 2026
May 1, 2027: Mayor and Places 4 and 5 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 13, 20275:00 p.m. Friday, February 12, 2027

For additional election-related dates and information, go to the Secretary of State's website (posted in accordance with TX. Legis. H.B. 305, effective Sept. 1, 2019).

Vote Centers Model

The Tarrant County Commissioners Court adopted the Vote Centers model in July 2019, which was implemented by Tarrant County Elections beginning with the November 5, 2019 Election. 'Vote Centers' are an alternative to precinct-specific polling locations and were created pursuant to the  Countywide Polling Place Program in the Texas Elections Code. Under the Vote Center model, registered voters can vote at any polling location within the County on Election Day, a convenience previously only enjoyed during the Early Voting period. Vote Centers are aimed at increasing customer satisfaction, reducing errors, boosting voter turnout, and lowering costs.

WHO DETERMINES POLLING LOCATIONS? The two major political parties determine locations for the Primary Elections. Municipalities (cities, school districts, etc.) determine polling locations for Municipal Elections. The County Commissioners Court determines polling locations for the General Elections.

HOW DO VOTE CENTERS AFFECT EARLY VOTING, VOTING BY MAIL, AND CURBSIDE VOTING? Vote Centers do not affect or change any of these.

WILL VOTERS BE ABLE TO VOTE ON PAPER BALLOTS? No. Because Vote Centers allow any registered voter to vote at any polling location there will be no paper ballots to complete by hand. Instead, all votes will be cast on an electronic voting machine that will print out your completed ballot. The voter will take their completed ballot and feed it into a scanner for tabulation before it is automatically dropped into a ballot box for archiving.

Main Menu
General Information
Phone Numbers
Fax: 817-617-3726
Emergencies: Dial 911
City Secretary
1614 S Bowen Road

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.